Florida Tech Panthers Scholar-Athletes Recognized for Academic Success at Honors Convocation

scholar athlete spotlight

Florida Tech Athletics had another excellent year in the classroom in 2023-24, with numerous scholar-athletes earning recognition at the university’s Honors Convocation. (Florida Tech image)

BREVARD COUNTY, FLORIDA – Florida Tech Athletics had another excellent year in the classroom in 2023-24, with numerous scholar-athletes earning recognition at the university’s Honors Convocation.

Senior Austin Engeler of the Men’s Lacrosse program was the recipient of The Ashok & Kumkum Pandit Family Endowment Award.

The Ashok & Kumkum Pandit Family Endowment Award is presented to one senior and one junior in the Civil Engineering program who holds a 3.5 over higher cumulative GPA, has been selected as Student of the Year, and has fulfilled the following criteria: Exhibited leadership in student organizations, and/or athletics, and/or ROTC; Participated in internships or co-op programs; Conducted volunteer work; Participate in research projects.

A total of 24 Scholar-Athletes and one assistant coach received Outstanding Student of the Year awards. Additionally, 16 Panthers were recipients of the Distinguished Student Scholar Award from Florida Tech.

The Outstanding Student of the Year honorees are selected by each academic unit at Florida Tech and designated as “well-rounded, active student-scholars who have made contributions to the academic program, university, and community.”

The complete list of Scholar-Athletes who earned Outstanding Student of the Year awards is below:

College of Engineering and Sciences

Department of Biomedical and Chemical Engineering & Sciences

■ Kiera Ceely (Women’s Swimming)

■ Lizzy Christ (Women’s Lacrosse)

■ Millie Hurt (Women’s Lacrosse)

■ Karly Liebendorfer (Women’s Lacrosse)

■ Jack Schule (Men’s Cross Country-Track)

Department of Mechanical and Civil Engineering

■ Parker Christensen (Men’s Soccer)

■ Austin Engeler (Men’s Lacrosse)

■ Armando Loynaz (Men’s Soccer)

■ Byron Mariotti (Men’s Lacrosse)

■ Domantas Marocka (Men’s Rowing)

■ Harper Powell (Women’s Swimming)

■ Brynn Romberger (Women’s Swimming)

■ McKenzie Winder (Women’s Basketball)

Department of Ocean Engineering and Marine Sciences

■ Brennan Banks (Men’s Lacrosse, Assistant Coach)

Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

■ Aristotelis Dougales (Men’s Soccer)

■ Nathan M. Bisk College of Business

■ Cailey Canessa (Women’s Lacrosse)

■ Lydia Carroll (Women’s Soccer)

■ Kajsa Ekstrom (Women’s Soccer)

■ Filippo Fazzi (Men’s Soccer)

■ Carlos Guzman (Baseball)

■ Mikkel Kvinnesland (Men’s Soccer)

■ Kevan Regnier (Men’s Soccer)

College of Psychology and Liberal Arts

School of Psychology

■ Debora Xavier (Women’s Swimming)

■ Kayla Minton (Women’s Lacrosse)

School of Arts and Communication

■ Ally Jaime (Women’s Soccer)

The Distinguished Student Scholar award is given annually to undergraduate students who have completed more than 55 credit hours at Florida Tech with cumulative grade point averages of 3.8 or higher.

The complete list of scholar-athletes who earned Distinguished Student Scholar recognition is below:

■ David Adler (Men’s Cross Country) – Aviation Management with Flight

■ Cailey Canessa (Women’s Lacrosse) – Business Administration

■ Kelly McLaughlin (Softball) – Business Administration – Marketing

■ Luke Aagaard (Men’s Cross Country) – Aerospace Engineering

■ Farah Shaaban (Women’s Basketball) – Aerospace Engineering

■ Justin Woodyard (Men’s Rowing) – Aerospace Engineering

■ Kiera Ceely (Women’s Swimming) – Biomedical Engineering

■ Lizzy Christ (Women’s Lacrosse) – Biomedical Engineering

■ Millie Hurt (Women’s Lacrosse) – Biochemistry

■ Karly Liebendorfer (Women’s Lacrosse) – Biomedical Engineering

■ Kari Voelstad Bogen (Volleyball) – Computer Engineering

■ Donovan Murphy (Men’s Basketball) – Computer Science

■ Austin Engeler (Men’s Lacrosse) – Civil Engineering

■ JP Panchookian (Men’s Lacrosse) – Mechanical Engineering

■ Austin Sewell (Baseball) – Mathmatical Sciences – Applied Mathmatics

■ Annabel Frey (Women’s Lacrosse) – Forensic Psychology

■ Mackenzie Smith (Women’s Lacrosse) – Multiplatform Journalism